Seriously Debating About This….

Still working on the Tamarack for Alicia and Marcus, but guess it’s safe to say that I’m close to 75% complete. The main shell is up and the remaining parts need a final sand and coat of paint before I assemble/attach the roof. From there, it should be smooth sailing in terms of decorating the interior. If I can get the Campbells moved in, that’d be awesome – the first family in their new home in my new home. Good lord, that’s confusing.

The last entry I mentioned about upping my search for Trent and George’s new house. I really meant that statement, except that…well, I got distracted with the following:

  • Been checking Craigslist for anyone selling/giving away their old dollhouses. But in a listing from someone close to Baltimore, he was selling an assembled Federal dollhouse from Real Good Toys. A three hour drive, a gas station trip, and $65 less = I came home victorious. There’s about 9 rooms in the house, so figured this will suit the Eocháins quite well. 
  • Still mourning that the Mini Modern blog will no longer have new posts (*sigh* where am I going to get more inspiration??), I found the Greenleaf online community and joined. There are a lot of dedicated, experienced enthusiasts here when it comes to construction. Ah, this apprentice must learn!

 

 

 

Will have to focus on the second point above because as I explored the forums, a couple of the entries mentioned a dollhouse from Greenleaf/Corona called the Gloucester. So when I did a search…

[insert choirs of angels singing hymns of praise]

Granted, I don’t know much about this kit (or the company that manufactures it), but it’s super cute! And it opens in the front! And…and it’s under $150 (with free shipping)!!

I’m seeing this at work right now, and I’m gonna admit, I’m salivating. I really really like it. Much to the point that I want it. True, each floor only has two rooms. But it’s very European in flavor, and I can easily see Isolde and Avery feeling at home to this arrangement. Plus, the Greenleaf Community site has some neat photos of how it looks when assembled. (See Gallery I and Gallery II for ideas).

 

 

But Crazy Dollhouse Girl, you ask, what about your dollhouses at home? Do you honestly want to incur the wrath of BK of yet another kit taking up space? He’s already upset that you two can’t use the dining room thanks to a half built Tamarack on the table, remember?

Dammit, hate it when Rational Dollhouse girl does that. “Cuz she’s freakin’ right.

Guess I’ll have to wait until I finish the other dollhouses. But unless I find something else, I think this might be “the one” for the Tremaines.

Or mooch my family to have this as a Christmas gift. Maybe.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

Leave a Reply

