ARC II: More on Archie’s Construction

Saturday turned out to be busier than expected. Rather than being able to continue working on the ARC II, there were additional errands to run, and other household chores to do. So by the time I was ready to sit down and do some work, it was already past 10 pm. Figured I’d let myself work on the house until 12:45 am…and write my progress before going to sleep. So again, apologies if this entry might just as long as the last construction entry.

To start, I ended up changing the layout of the stones for the ARC II’s front courtyard. Because of my online purchases late last night, I had to adjust how the stones were set up in order to accommodate the bushes/shrubs I bought. Once I was happy with the new arrangement, I ended up using a pair of tweezers to dip each stone into some tacky glue, and apply them in place.

The stone path's new arrangement. Hopefully this is a better layout...

The stone path’s new arrangement. Hopefully this is a better layout…

Another view.

Another view.

Since I needed to wait for the glue to dry….I then moved to working on the ceilings. At first, I was just about to paint the first and second floor ceilings with a bright white. It would have been easy and probably fast, mind you. But something told me to use the leftover flooring used in the CC.

Applying the leftover pine flooring for the sitting area's ceiling.

Applying the leftover pine flooring for the sitting area’s ceiling.

I had some sizable scraps of the southern pine plank flooring (talk about a mouthful saying that!) after I had finishing applying them on the CC’s rooms. I couldn’t exactly chuck them away, and luckily I didn’t — the scraps were enough to allow me to piece them together to use on the ceilings.

The process was straightforward enough — I cut the scraps down into segments, and glued those segments to fit on the side where the ceiling would be. I kinda cheated a bit by putting some layers of wax paper atop the glued planks, and ran the iron over them using the lowest setting possible. Then (still with the wax paper covering the part), I piled a stack of heavy hardback books on top  to press it down for a couple minutes.

Waiting for the glue to dry....

Waiting for the glue to dry….

Once the glue dried enough, I turned the part over and trimmed out the excess. Then each was sanded and another layer of my (now favorite) wood polish was applied.

Ceiling-3

I did the same thing for the second floor ceiling (for the bedroom and bath). The area I had to cover was a a rather funky shape, so I had to cut the pine flooring into three medium size pieces and made sure the edges were flush against each other. Just so it looks like it’s actually one continuous piece that covered the ceiling.

The ceiling for the bedroom and bath.

The ceiling for the bedroom and bath.

Once everything was polished (and sanded — the edges were a little bit jagged so I had to spend more time to sand them), I did another dry fit run to see how the new ceiling looked. Not too bad!

View of the ceiling in the sitting room area.

View of the ceiling in the sitting room area.

 

View of the pine ceiling from the kitchen area.

View of the pine ceiling from the kitchen area.

View of the second floor ceiling. Bedroom is on the left side, bathroom to the right.

View of the second floor ceiling. Bedroom is on the left side, bathroom to the right.

To complete the ceiling part entirely, there’s a part of the second floor ceiling that’ actually overlooks the front part of the ARC’s front courtyard. Again, I could have just left that alone – but my worry was that if I glued the second floor ceiling/third floor patio area, it’d be difficult for me to go back and decorate that underside. So I took some silver embossed scrapbook paper, trimmed it down to a smaller rectangle, and did a dry fit to see how much I’d need to cut out.

Applying the metallic scrapbook paper.

Applying the metallic scrapbook paper.

I cut from the 12×12 inch sheet an 8×10 rectangle, and tried to flush the paper’s straight edges to the guides I drew on the ceiling. I wanted to make sure that I didn’t block the areas where the ceiling connects to the walls. After applying a thick layer of YES! paste to apply the paper, I waited until it set enough so I could again cut out the excess (and dulled another blade in the process. Darn it, guess a reorder is needed).

The finished product.

The finished product.

Now that the ceilings were completed, I finally caved in and applied new flooring for the bathroom. I mentioned in the last entry that I had to wait for my order of cork sheets because Michaels didn’t have them in stock. I ended up going back to the store this afternoon to get some more stuff — and found a 12×12 pack on sale on their main center aisle. I used one of the sheets, placed the floor upside down, and cut out the needed shape.

Getting ready to cut.

Getting ready to cut.

The cork sheet is about 1/16 inch thick, so I had to use another new blade to make sure the cut edges stayed clean (otherwise, I’d get jagged/crumbled edges). The cork was then glued using some Weldbond, then resanded the edges again to make sure it’s flushed against the wood.

BathroomFloor-2Then did another dry fit. Not bad I guess!

New bathroom floor.

New bathroom floor.

So in about a day…I’m almost done with the interior. This is what it looks so far. I was starting to get tired at this point – figured I’d better do another dry fit to check things before figuring out my next steps for Sunday. Not bad right?

Day 1's worth of construction completed.

Day 1’s worth of construction completed.

For the front walls of the ARC….I picked up some off white/cream acrylic paint to use (FolkArt’s Parchment). The stuff’s pretty thick which I liked, but after applying the first layer….I might need to let the stuff dry completely and sand the surfaces down to make it smooth. Definitely a reflection of my getting tired and needing sleep…usually when I paint walls (especially wood walls), I put a layer of paint gesso, let that dry, and sand it. That ensures having a smooth surface — and the paint will appear more even during application. Crap, guess we know what I’ll be doing first thing Sunday morning. 😦

The walls. I forgot to put gesso first and sand it. Hence it looking very uneven at the moment. *sad face*

The walls. I forgot to put gesso first and sand it. Hence it looking very uneven at the moment. *sad face*

Leave a Reply

