The Neville: Sunday Rush

Finding it kinda ironic that in the last couple of posts….the times I was able to cover alot of ground with the miniature projects….always occurs on a Sunday. It also doesn’t help that the last couple of weeks have been fully of consistently crappy weather. Which in a way is sorta good news – I can work on said projects. It’s nice how logic works itself out in the end.

But before I begin…I want to apologize if the photos look kinda crappy. I do most of the work in my dining room, and my vintage chandelier doesn’t provide the best of light when it comes to taking photos. And second, apologies if my descriptions sound rather incoherent. When it came to doing work on the Neville, it did sorta feel like I was all over the place.

So disclaimers aside…time to provide an update of what’s been done. And as of tonight, this is what I’ve accomplished so far. I went from this Sunday morning….

Photo of the The CBS Neville. Please pardon the mess....…to this as of Sunday evening.

SundayRush-1

The photo might be a little hard to see, but I did complete making the upgrades to the exterior, as well as the interior. And I have to say, because of the Neville’s size, and the limited access points I had (i.e, the side doors and the front window/patios)….this had definitely been a challenge to my wrists. It really did feel like you had to be an absolute contortionist to get any work down.

Okay, time to get down to business. What I started working on first were the exterior walls. The bottom side walls were pretty straightforward – so straightforward, I forgot to take pics of it except the end product as shown below. (facepalm)

For the recessed panels, I just measured and cut out pieces to fit. Though for each recess, it called for two pieces. Which was a bit of a challenge mostly because I had to make sure it looked as seamless as possible.

Installing the beadboard panels.

Installing the beadboard panels.

However, the top part of the side wall (the area that connects to roof) was not exactly straightforward. Mostly because of the funky shape and the limited space to work around in.

Uh-oh. How the &%$# am I supposed to cover the top part of the side wall??

Uh-oh. How the &%$# am I supposed to cover the top part of the side wall??

My solution? Making a paper template of course. I used some scrap computer paper and used it to make as close an accurate shape of the top wall. I tried to make sure the edges of my paper were the straight-edge ones to ensure I was accurate as possible.

SundayRush-4

Once the template was completed, I carefully pulled it off the Neville and applied it on my sanded beadboard….

SundayRush-5

…and voila, an exact template!

SundayRush-6

I had to sand the edges a bit to make sure they were as level as I could managed. Or use my X-Acto blade to slice off any excess. I then did a dry fit to make sure the piece slid in place before gluing it down with Quick Grip (to reduce any warping while it dried).

Woohoo! It fits!

Woohoo! It fits!

Once the glue dried, all the beadboard on this side were sanded and wiped down thoroughly. Then I went back and repeated the same process on the other Neville wall. And applied another strip of beadboard on the upper part of the front. Which I yet again forgot to take a pic (dude, seriously…).

Close up view.

Close up view.

Once the exetior beadboard was glued (and masking tape applied in place to keep the pieces still), I fipped the Neville on its roof to give both my hands better access of the interior. Which was good, because I wanted to start installing the wallpaper first. I kept the side walls as-is (did a quick sanding and wipe clean with tack cloth). But the rear wall, I measured and cut a final piece from my Orla Kiely wrapping paper from Paper Source (the same one used in my 1:6 diorama).

SundayRush-9Because the room was so small (I relied on the side openings as access points for my hands), I ended up attaching the paper to the rear wall using permanent glue dots. Was pretty impressed how quickly the adhesive secured the paper in place. Though the catch I’ve realized is that you need to make sure the sheet fits the wall first before applying the adhesive.

Close up of the wallpaper.

Close up of the wallpaper. Flipped it right side up to take the pic.

Once the wallpaper was installed, the Neville was flipped on its back….so I can begin the dread task of installing beadwork and wooden beams on the ceiling. To do that, I cut, painted, and sanded a couple strips of wood….

Waiting for the paint to dry before sanding them smooth.

Waiting for the paint to dry before sanding them smooth.

….as well as measure and cut some more beadboard paneling to fit the width of the ceiling. Because the wood is so thin, and I was using some water-based paint…I ended up painting both sides. Then flattening the panels between sheets of wax paper — and the heaviest books I own. Most of which were cookbooks.

The beadword ready for installation.

The beadboard ready for installation.

I had originally thought of painting the panels a solid white. But after the initial sandings…I found myself liking the faded/semi-opaque look.

Close up.

Close up.

Once everything was prepped to go…I steeled myself to begin installation. Starting from the rear/accent wall, I glued one of the strip woods first using fast-grip tacky glue….then the panel was attached using Quick Grip. As you can see, my fat claw of a hand is pressing down on the panel to make sure it’s fully flushed against the ceiling surface.

Installing wood strip #1, panel #1.

Installing wood strip #1, panel #1.

Of course, as I started to add more panels, I noticed that despite my pressing down firmly on the panels (and putting a good amount of Quick Grip), the panels started to curve. I tried to use one of my full bottles of acrylic paint as a roller to tamp the panels down…

SundayRush-15

…then I resorted to using my heaviest (aka unused) tubes of paint and used them as weights.

SundayRush-16

SundayRush-17

But in the end….it seemed to have worked out. I used more 1/8 x1/8 inch wood trim to fill in any gaps.

The finished ceiling. Sorry for the flash.

The finished ceiling. Sorry for the flash.

SundayRush-20

SundayRush-19

After the walls, I tackled the flooring. I had scraped my knuckles against the sandpaper “carpet” the Neville practically every time. It was time to do something about it. So I used some more scrap paper to create yet another template of the floor.

Creating a template of the flooring.

Creating a template of the flooring.

I was going to apply the template for a wood flooring….but decided to use a linen cardstock from Michaels instead. Kinda almost gives a carpet appearance right? Because the cardstock is so thin, I used glue dots once more to firmly secure the paper in place.

The new floor.

The new floor.

As a final touch for the interior room, I installed some baseboard trim. I opted to just sand and apply beeswax polish to maintain the natural look the Neville is conveying. Though my camera’s flash made the molding look too golden…. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

SundayRush-24

SundayRush-27

The Neville thus far...

The Neville thus far…

If you noticed, the porch railing that originally came with the Neville is missing. I decided to just go ahead and install a type of “glass” railing.ย  Mostly because I found this small sheet of clear acrylic paneling at Home Depot for under $3. Though the downside is that I need to order some components to built the rail. And replace my acrylic sheet cutter tool (d’oh)!

SundayRush-31That’s it so far folks. I still need to finish the roof and maybe repolish the exterior. But once these parts are done…I can start the decorations.

Okay, it’s almost 1130 pm. Time for this crazy gal to go to bed! Talk about a busy day!

4 thoughts on “The Neville: Sunday Rush

  1. Marvelous updates! ๐Ÿ˜€ Of course, this won’t help you now, but I use drops of super glue gel with white or wood glues to hold pieces in place while the main glue dries. Helps a lot with lifting and such. It was a tip I picked up on GL and I use it all the time.

    • That’s a really good tip Brae — I’ll use that when I work on the roof. Seeing gaps in the woodwork always drives me nuts! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Pingback: Proof of Life (aka “Slowly Getting Back on the Saddle”) | A Miniature Obsession

Leave a Reply

